Danielle Camille Woods
Home / Timeline Stories

Danielle Camille Woods

Officer Danielle Camille Woods is a local and state leader that works tirelessly to bridge the gap between the LGBTQ community and law enforcement. A 20-year veteran of the Detroit Police Department, Officer Woods is no stranger to the historically troubled relationship between law enforcement and the LGBTQ community in..Read More

Mary Locke Petermann

Born in 1908, Mary Locke Petermann was an American cellular biochemist best known for her key role in the discovery and characterization of animal ribosomes, the molecular complexes that carry out protein synthesis. Born in 1908, Dr. Petermann dedicated her life to science and research at a time when women..Read More

Mary Kramer

Mary Kramer is a seasoned expert with more than 25 years of reporting and management experience. She joined Crain’s Detroit Business in 1989, and in 1990 was named Associate Publisher. In May 1994, Kramer was named a Vice President of Crain Communications Inc, and in May 2005 she was named..Read More

Carol Sue Hutchins

Carol Hutchins served 38 seasons at the helm of the University of Michigan softball program (1985-2002) and retired as the winningest coach in NCAA softball history with a career record of 1,707-555-5 (.755). Hutchins is also the winningest coach — male or female — in Michigan Athletics history!    “Hutch”..Read More

Esther Gordy Edwards

The late Esther Gordy Edwards has been greatly lauded for her role as the visionary founder and sustainer of the Motown Historical Museum. Motown Records was founded with an $800 loan secured by Berry Gordy from The Gordy Family Savings Club (The Ber-Berry Co-op). Esther helped establish the family co-op…Read More

Sarah E. Ray

Sarah E. Ray (1917-2006) was an African American civil rights activist who in 1945 was denied entry on a ferry operated by the Bob-Lo Excursion Company. She initiated a legal battle against the company via the NAACP which eventually ended up being processed by the United States Supreme Court. The court ruled..Read More

Lila Neuenfelt

Judge Lila Neuenfelt (1902-1981) was the first woman circuit court judge in Michigan and at the time of her swearing in, was the youngest woman in the U.S. to become an attorney. She is known for fighting for married women’s rights to use their birthname in professional capacities and for mentoring other women..Read More

Fannie B. Peck

Fannie B. Peck (1880-1971) was the first president of the National Housewives League and founder of the Detroit Housewives League, where she led a team of women determined to create better conditions for their communities and the next generation of women. She created the Fannie B. Peck Credit Union which gave..Read More

Diana Sieger

Diana R. Sieger is the President of the Grand Rapids Community Foundation, a position she has held for nearly 34 years. Under her leadership, the assets have grown from $35M to nearly $400M. She has also led the GRCF in the creation of initiatives such as the LGBTQ Fund, African American..Read More

Debra White-Hunt

Debra White-Hunt is the Co-Founder and Artistic Director of The Detroit-Windsor Dance Academy.  She has been awarded several honors for her community development work including being granted a Milken National Educator Award, being named Michiganian of the Year, and being named a Crain’s Notable Woman in Non-Profits.  She also was awarded..Read More